Sixty-Seven Students Inducted Into Honor Society

May 17, 2018

Sixty-seven students were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society Thursday, having demonstrated scholarship, character, leadership, service and skill at an exemplary level.

The event, held at Putnam | Northern Westchester BOCES’ Yorktown campus, was attended by BOCES administration, Career and Technical Education Center faculty, students, friends and family members. In addition to those students who were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society, more than 80 students received scholarships and awards.
“These are young people who are going to make a difference in their communities and in their careers,” said District Superintendent Dr. James Ryan. “We are so pleased to be able to honor them here tonight.”

To be eligible for induction into the National Technical Honor Society, students had to maintain a 90 or better average in their course of study at Tech and an average of 80 or better at their home school district.

Before lighting a candle to represent ‘Skill,” Hendrick Hudson High School’s Stephanie Mandelkow, a student in the Sports Medicine and Physical Therapy programs, took to the stage’s podium to talk about the benefits of a Tech Center education.

“National Technical Honor Society students have an advantage over other high school students because they are developing skills to guide them through college and their careers,” Mandelkow said. “Whether it’s building a house in Carpentry, saving a tree in Urban Forestry or comforting a child in Early Childhood Education, Tech Center students gain skills few others do.”

Board President Richard Krepps and board members Anita Feldman and Mary Cay Nilsen were also on hand to congratulate the students. The following students were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society:

Brewster HS: Yannah Nordquist (New Visions Health); Kayla Harris and Amber Holic (Cosmetology).
Carmel HS: Joseph Vaccaro and Amber Wright (Digital Film, Video & Audio Production); Brandon Barna (Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning); Krystal Fletcher and Morgan Gallagher (Medical Assistant); Nicholas Johnson (New Visions Health); Mariah Kravitz (Sports Medicine) Erin Fredericks, Jessica Lauro and Hannah Malone (Veterinary Science).

Croton-Harmon HS: Marisa Martinez and Karina Matalavage (Child Development & Education);

Fox Lane HS: Emily Betancourt (Baking & Pastry Arts/Culinary Arts); Danielle Altro (Cosmetology); Maxwell Dezell (Digital Film, Video & Audio Production) Theo Pang (Microcomputer Technology).
Haldane HS: Alyssa Covelli (Child Development & Education); Selena Ayala and Samantha Monroe (Computer Graphics)
Hendrick Hudson HS: Mackenzie Porter (Law Enforcement); Stephanie Mandelkow (Sports Medicine); Rosa Sinchi (Certified Nurse Aide)
Horace Greeley HS: Samuel Silva Ortiz (New Visions Health)
John Jay HS: Sarah Leavy (Digital Film, Video & Audio Production)
Lakeland HS: Emily Maher (Child Development & Education); Chaz Ronca (Digital Film, Video & Audio Production);Felipe Marquez (Veterinary Science).
Mahopac HS: Ava Mastro (Auto Body); Doriano Carraasquillo (Baking & Pastry Arts/Culinary Arts); Adrianna DiNobile (Cosmetology); Bernika Joseph (Law Enforcement); Alexandra Gaspar (New Visions Engineering); Nicole Daly (New Visions Health); Brianna Biagini (Veterinary Science)

Ossining HS: Brianna Reilly and Shamari Rivera (Fashion Design & Merchandising); Maryfer Cumbe (Medical Assistant); Joseph Batista (Masonry); Darwin Arias and Kevin Carchipulla (New Visions Health)

Peekskill HS: Anthony Illescas (Microcomputer Technology); Mylaisha Daye and Anabel Sanchez (New Visions Health); Kiara Haughton (Sports Medicine)

Putnam Valley HS: Corrine Zastenchik(Digital Film, Video & Audio Production)Kelsey Murphy and Maria Tomais (Sports Medicine) Alexis Delgado (Fashion Design & Merchandising)

Somers HS: Renee Susa (Certified Nurse Aide); Jacqueline San Jose (New Visions Health)

Walter Panas HS: Britney Javier (Auto Body); Nicholas Merando (Baking & Pastry Arts); Madyson Cacayo (Cosmetology); Maria Pantages and Candice Zayas (Fashion Design & Merchandising); Tyler Capossela (Microcomputer Technology); Jacqueline Gutierrez and Steven Pellegrino (Veterinary Science)